Week 11 Reflection

This week was difficult as I moved from theory to concept. I have a difficult classroom situation this year which leads to me to taking one of two approaches when thinking about gamification: picturing the utter chaos which is bound to overtake my classroom if I break out of the extremely structured instructional and behavioral routines I have established or visualizing how gamification would work in my previous classrooms and designing with one of those classrooms in mind. As the year progresses and I garner more support for my students, gamification might be possible in my current setting. I will plan for that day.

Reading through the blogs this week, it was very inspiring to see how each of us is taking such an individualized route to gamifying our classrooms. I would to see a follow-up post from everyone in June reflecting on the process and the impact gamification had on students’ education.

On Sarah’s blog, I wrote:

I don’t know if students need to know the storyline you base your gamification model on to be vested in the outcome. Sometimes I think that it might be better if they don’t so they aren’t comparing or anticipating your next move. I certainly hope that Matera’s elementary students didn’t watch Game of Thrones! I like the idea of the hidden leaderboard as well. While some of your students may be competitive, hiding the leaderboard reduces the opportunity for students to tease those who are not at the same level they are, whether it be high or low.

On Ali’s blog, I left the following comment:

I would love to hear how this works in your classroom! Even though I was part of the team who presented on ClassCraft, I still can’t visualize how the points are awarded during the course of a lesson. The way you have yours set up, it seems as though points would be awarded as you corrected assignments, not during the actual instructional time. This seems doable to me. I just don’t seem to have a free minute during instructional time between providing differentiated instruction for my gifted students, Tier 1 and 2 instructional and behavioral interventions, and general support.

Leave a Reply

