Week 10 Reflection

This week’s task was more challenging than I thought it would be. I spent a lot of time reflecting on what I have learned so far this semester and how this impacts the process of implementing gamification in a classroom setting. Our classrooms are all so unique, as are the students that we teach and their needs. There is certainly not a one-size-fits-all approach to implementation, nor do I expect the results to be similar for all.

On Mariah’s blog, I wrote:

Mariah,

I’ll be the first to admit that I fall into that overachieving category of student and teacher who is not happy meeting the criteria, but striving to exceed it. When I first looked at the rubric, this desire to not just be proficient, but advanced, made me cringe a bit at the “exceeds” column. After some reflecting, I became more comfortable with these high demands. In fact, I ended up making one of the areas more stringent. Just because we are new and inexperienced at the process doesn’t mean we need to lower to bar and reduce the rigor of the overall task. Because we strive for excellence, we will get there in time with the proper amount of effort (and likely, numerous failures)!

 

On Ali’s blog, I wrote the following:

Ali,

I like how you focus on the motivation factor of gamification when considering the rubric. In particular, I like the idea of not taking away points, just allowing students to earn them as they gain knowledge and work toward mastery. A book I read this spring and absolutely loved was Fair Isn’t Always Equal by Rick Wormelli. It is a great read that ties into this idea of motivating and rewarding students as they learn, not punishing them for making errors in the learning process. I think it ties in nicely with many aspects of gamification (the non-behavioristic ones in particular). Thanks for your thoughtful post.

Kate

I also appreciated the feedback on my initial post from Gerald and Aleta. They each had something to offer that made me stop and think some more!

Leave a Reply

